Trinidad & Tobago 1-1 Barbados

Soares - Impressive display in opener
In front of around 8,000 noisy home fans Trinidad and Tobago could only manage a draw in their opening match of the 2007 Digicel Caribbean Cup finals.

Wim Rijsbergen's team opened the game strongly, passing the ball well and enjoying the bulk of the possession. Leslie Fitzpatrick and Gary Glasgow were proving particularly effective combining well on the Soca Warriors left flank and it was from a Fitzpatrick corner that Trinidad & Tobago almost opened the scoring, Osei Telesford heading over when it seemed easier to score on 28 minutes. But the crowd didn't have long to wait before celebrating the first goal of this year's finals tournament. Again Fitzpatrick was the creator, delivering a free-kick from the left that fell to Glasgow who swiveled to score off the far post on 31 minutes.

The second half saw a rejuvenated Bajan Pride taking the game to the home side. A period of prolonged pressure saw Louie Soares and Neil Harvey go close before Eyre Sealy's side deservedly drew level on 66 minutes, Harvey meeting a Norman Forde cross with an unstoppable header. The equalizer stung the hosts back into action and the home side created enough chances in the final 20 minutes to have secured the three points but proved unable to convert a series of gilt-edged opportunities. Gary Glasgow was the main culprit, firing wide on 69 and 85 minutes with only Morrison Taylor in the Bajan goal to beat.

Rijsbergen and the home fans will be hoping the host side can be more clinical in front of goal in their second group game with Martinique on 16th September while the Bajan Pride will be satisfied to keep their unbeaten record in the tournament intact.

Trinidad & Tobago: Jan Michael Williams, Dwayne Jack, Osei Telesford, Leslie Fitzpatrick (Kwame Wiltshire), Scott Sealy (Darryl Roberts), Kerwin Jemmott (Kwame Wiltshire), Gary Glasgow, Kerry Baptiste, Nigel Daniel, Denzil Theobald.

Barbados: Morrison Taylor, Jonathan Straker, Gregory Goodridge, Louie Soares, John Hawkesworth, Neil Harvey (Rushida Williams), John Parris, Ryan Lucas (Sheridan Groversnor), Norman Forde, Dyson James, Romelle Burgess